Skip to main content

ADIPEC awards: breaking records

Published by
World Pipelines,

The highly acclaimed ADIPEC Awards are continuing their record-breaking streak, with the number of entries increasing by nearly one-third from 2014 to reach 501 entries this year.

The submissions

Nearly two-thirds of submissions came from outside the Middle East, with entries from newly participating countries, including China, Mexico, and Malaysia. In total, 247 organisations from 32 countries submitted their nominations this year, compared with 104 companies from 27 countries in 2014, underlining the ADIPEC Awards as a global platform for recognising excellence.

This remarkable increase, experts say, can be attributed not only to the accolades’ prominent reputation, but also the growing need for industry innovation in today’s dynamic market environment.

Globally prestigious accolades

Abdul Munim Saif Al Kindy, ADIPEC 2015 Awards Chairman, and Chief Executive Officer of the Abu Dhabi Company for Onshore Oil Operations (ADCO), said: “The continuously increasing number of submissions and participating countries in the ADIPEC awards demonstrates that the accolades are truly global in both merit and prestige.”

“Today, the world’s largest National and International Oil Companies look to the Awards not only for recognition, but also best practice,” Kindy added. “This valuable exchange of expertise towards the sustainable growth of the oil and gas industry reinforces Abu Dhabi’s position as a knowledge-sharing hub for the energy sector. The awards will keep pace with the developments in the industry, and motivate innovative ideas to address the challenges ahead.”

ADIPEC’s awards

The distinguished awards and gala dinner, which are hosted by the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), offer regional oil and gas companies an opportunity to showcase their achievements and significant contributions to the industry.

All submissions made to the ADIPEC Awards are meticulously evaluated by the Regional Select Jury (RSJ), which is comprised of 28 senior professionals from national and international oil companies, academic institutions, and professional associations.

The best practice award – a new category introduced this year – drew the highest number of entries. The award recognises the creation and successful implementation of an initiative that offers improvement to an internal business process, structure, or culture.

“The overwhelmingly positive response we have received for the new Best Practice Award reflects the significant need for this category,” said Mr Jamal Jaafar, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Planning and Commercial, at the Kuwait Oil Company, and a member of the RSJ.

"Whether it is risk reduction, improved timing, or better use of resources, what we see today is a growing necessity for cost-effective, sustainable strategies that will meet the world’s increasing demand for energy.”

“The ADIPEC awards have been a great success, recognising a wide range of outstanding achievements and accomplishments in the oil and gas industry. It has evolved significantly over the past few years,” said Abdul Karim Al Mazmi, President and General Manager of BP UAE, and member of the RSJ.

“While it is important that we advance the industry, it is even more important that we do so without forgetting about our obligations to our community and the environment. At BP, we aim to make a difference to the communities in which we operate. We seek to work in partnerships of mutual advantage while providing energy to customers in a safe, sustainable, and environmentally responsible manner. We believe that it is possible to progress the industry while fulfilling our social, moral, and ethical responsibilities, and companies are recognising that this is, in fact, crucial for the organic and long-term growth of the energy sector,” Mazmi added.

The categories

Oil and gas companies could enter eight categories:

  • Best oil and gas mega project.
  • Best oil and gas innovation or technology (surface or sub-surface).
  • Best oil and gas corporate social responsibility (CSR)/health, safety, and environment (HSE) project or initiative.
  • Best oilfield services company (local, regional or international).
  • Young ADIPEC engineer.
  • Oil and gas woman of the year.
  • Best dissertation of the year.
  • Best practice.

Jean-Philippe Cossé, ADIPEC 2015 Event Director at dmg events, said: “The ADIPEC awards are not only about celebrating past achievements, but also about presenting opportunities for improvement. By recognising excellence in the oil and gas industry, the awards set benchmarks for others to follow, ultimately paving the path for a sustainable energy future.”

The shortlist will be announced on 12 October 2015 and will name three finalists for each category. Winners and runners-up will be announced at the ADIPEC awards gala dinner taking place at Emirates Palace on ADIPEC’s opening night, 9 November 2015.

Edited from source by Stephanie Roker

Read the article online at:

You might also like

Integrity 2019

Integrity 2019

Integrity 2019 is a two-day online conference for pipeline professionals. Since this is a completely virtual conference, you can join us from anywhere in the world, absolutely free.


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):